Reindeer hair AKA Messing with my 6 year old

Don’t think i don’t mess with them daily, it is one of the joys of motherhood, but publically I try to keep it to one a day (although Fiona’s outfit today is noteworthy; an Irish dress with shamrock print paired with purple flower pants and a black and yellow northshield hat).

Today is the last day of school for the year (2014 that is) and Niamh was indulgent of my obsession with pinterest things.  Given that she was going to school with 25 reindeer lollipops, the ‘want to build a snow man’ bags, and a cool ornament for her teacher she was in a good mood.

Since only half of anything on pinterest has instructions here is my quick how-to for the reindeer bun.  As always, the materials I used were what I had to hand, you could easily sub most of the things.

IMG_3539

1. Made a bun from her hair like any other bun.  If you never do a bun just make a ponytail then twist and twist until it twists around and put another hair binder over and around the bun to hold it.

2. Eye – Paper with marker; I cut out the conjoined eyes and just doodled on eyeballs.  Make sure they are one piece!  Use a bobby pin between the eyes and nestle it at the back of the bun.

3. Antlers – 2 brown Pipe Cleaners; Bend each into antler shape (3 points) and one end and twist them together at the other end so you have a long section in the middle and antlers at either end.  I bent this over the bun and bobby pinned into the sides of the bun.

4. Nose – 1 red pipecleaner; twisted up into a ball with a bit left over to poke into the middle of the bun.  Pinned into place with another bobby pin.

This took me about 5 min and that included making all the parts but I did have them out so no finding-stuff time needed.  I can’t say how it might survive a day in first grade but it was super cute.

If you don’t have pipe cleaners you could just use paper but it might not hold up as well.  The one I saw on pinterest had google eyes and a pompom nose so they are great options if you have them around.  If I had more time I was thinking of a bell ‘collar’ and adding a ribbon with a bell or two around the bun but you only have so much time at breakfast to craft your kids head.

IMG_3538

Hope you have fun with this if you try it!

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Reindeer hair AKA Messing with my 6 year old”

  1. Greg Mercer, MSN says :

    Reblogged this on Big Red Carpet Nursing and commented:
    My absolute favorite Christmas decoration so far this season!

    Like

  2. constancecarlsen1 says :

    Very cute! Merry Christmas

    Like

  3. dbp49 says :

    I think it’s absolutely stunning, and if that doesn’t put all of her class-mates into the Christmas mood, then I don’t know what will. Merry Christmas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

