Turkey Tulle wreath; So easy a 6 year old can do it (kinda)

Meet our turkey wreath named Rose Petal Gobbles – named by my three girls and as if you had to ask – she is a female turkey~

 

I was inspired by pinterest and while I love my fall wreath the kids helped with 2 years ago, I wanted something new….  IMG_3444

 

Materials;

Tulle;

1 yard of 4 different colors – I choose two different yellows, orange and pink.  I think it would also look good with a green or blue

2 yards brown

Fabric

40-45 inches long x 7 inches wide of a neutral colored fabric – I used painters tarp leftover from this project

Other

40-45 inches of heavy wire, or, a wire coat hanger

a whole bunch of grocery bags (or other stuffing)

2 pins

white paper (or google eyes)

Tools

Sewing machine

scissors

wire snips

sharpie

needle and thread

 

1. Wreath form

– Create a 45 inch by 7 inch strip of fabric.  I joined smaller scraps but 45 is a standard width of fabric.  Sew the long sides together creating a long tube.  Right side out the tube.

– cut and insert the wire or hanger, be careful of the ends that might be sharp.

– stuff the tube with plastic grocery bags or any other stuffing you would like (fabric scraps, real stuffing…) I like to find a use for the plethora of bags I feel compelled to keep.  Stuff it until it is firm enough to not ‘squash’ when you tie around it.  Leave apx 3 inches unstuffed at either end to ‘tie’.

– create a circle by twisting/tying the two ends together.  The wire made mine stay without trouble.IMG_3438

 

2. Plumage

– Pre cut each of the colored tulle.  Measure first, the goal is to get small rectangles long enough to go around the wreath, double knot, and stand out about 1.5 inches. For me to get that length I cut  the tulle first the long way into quarters, then, each resulting strip into quarters (half then half again).  The easiest way to cut tulle is to make sure it is straight and scrunch it together so you cut the entire thing in one snip. *reserve one strip of the yellow for beak

– Pre cut the brown the same as above but reserve a few long pieces (not quartered)

– Start at the knot, that is the bottom/body area.  Working from the knot wrap the tulle around the form and do a simple double knot.  Pull the knot tight and the tails should stand up on their own when the knot is positioned on the outside of the ring.  Repeat for the bottom third of the wreath.

– At the top center begin your pattern and tie each feather in sequence until you meet the brown

– Fluff as you go and judge how tight you like the pattern.  Perfection is not necessary, this was mostly done by my 6 year old~

IMG_3439IMG_3439

3. Head

– take two of your reserved strips of brown.  Lay one flat and crumple up the other.  Tie the flat one around the crumpled one to make a little ball with long tails.  Add more if you feel it is too small, it should be in proportion to your wreath.  When you are happy with the size tie it using the tails to the bottom center, directly on the knot.

– Take the reserved yellow and tie it in a knot.  Then another and another to create a bumpy line of knots to make the beak.  Use the remaining tails to go back over the ‘beak’ to make a smooth layer on top.  Tie the ends together with a small strip of red (or pink) tulle.

– Stitch the beak to the head ball.  Just a few stitches should be fine.

– Cut two eye size and shape circles from the paper.  Color in the ‘iris’ with sharpie. Poke pins through the iris into the head ball creating a pupil with the head of the pin, and, attaching the eyes at the same time.

(sorry I didn’t take a close up of the steps)IMG_3444a

 

4. Hanging

I looped a piece of white yarn center top to hang from our wreath hanger on the door.  Match your yarn/string/ribbon to your door, or, make it a feature – both work.

 

Ta Da!  My 6 year old helped with the stuffing and did the majority of the tieing.  I did all the cutting and I made the head.

 

This is the way I did it this time – it is not the easiest way I’m sure but I used basically what I had on hand (aside from tulle).  Here are some thoughts on how you could get a similar good result with other things you might have, or, could easily buy.

– Buy a wreath form.  If you can’t find a neutral color just wrap it in fabric or ribbon or paint it or see how the color looks through the tule

– Instead of making a head you could use a styrofoam ball (painted, wrapped, etc)

– The beak could also be simplified by just cutting out a beak shape from paper and pinning/gluing it on

– Google eyes might be easier but there isn’t much more simple than cutting a circle…

There are endless ways to sub in or out parts of the project and still have it look cute and festive.

 

If you use these instructions or are inspired by my picture please like a picture of your creation.  I love to share the love of door decoration and in a world that seems to skip from halloween to christmas we can’t just buy a wreath at Target!

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Turkey Tulle wreath; So easy a 6 year old can do it (kinda)”

  1. Linda C Smith says :

    This is so cute! My granddaughter would love it. Thank you for visiting my blog; I finally passed the level in Farm Heroes that I wrote about. Now I’m ‘stuck’ at another. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

