In a Tiny house I would…

Today the email prompt from Misszoot.com was a fun one.

Someone’s paying you to move into one of those tiny house everyone is talking about. If you can survive a whole year in that house with just the things on this list, you get a bajillion dollars. Tell us how you fill in this List Of Things You Can Take With You:
 
5 books
3 outfits
You have a fridge/stove/oven – but you can only take 1 counter-top appliance
1 DVD collection of a TV show (your budget doesn’t allow for Netflix)
1 childhood artifact
They will give you ONE subscription to a magazine – what is it?

photo from Palm to Palm Tiny House

I have had a fascination with tiny houses for years and years and I have even watched numerous documentaries on them.  I like that they are so accessible and achievable.  I like that they can be super clever with hidden storage and a minimal aspect.  I know, I’ve been feeling like the walls on my 1800+ square feet are closing in on me, what would a tiny house be like?  I read the prompt first thing this morning and went about my normal morning of making breakfast and packing lunch and checking snow pants and boots and hats – then to the gym where I turned my arms to noodles – and the ride home where Fiona promptly fell asleep – all the while this little prompt churning around in my brain….
For purposes of this exercise I am assuming my children are big enough to be elsewhere because there is about zero ways to have 3 kids in a tiny house (120sqft).  I’m also going to assume Lars is with me but he gets his own picks.
5 books;  I will keep 5 photo albums – very hard to choose but I’m going to hang my hat on the fact that I will still have an ipad or phone that I can borrow books from the library and look up info online so no need for fiction or nonfiction.
3 outfits; 1 good black yoga pant, 1 good jeans, 1 maxi skirt, 1 long sleeve black shirt, 1 pink t shirt, 1 awesome tanktop, 1 long gray soft flattering sweater.
Microwave.  If I got two appliances I would say blender but a microwave is key to my cooking.  I guess I’ll figure out how to toast in an oven~
1 DVD collection – I think West Wing.
1 childhood artifact – my popple?  For a year I think I could leave everything in storage…
Magazine – Fast Co.  No reason for fancy crafting or cooking magazines and I really like their articles and their take on things.  This is also assuming ability to get news from the internet or else I would have to go with TIME or something like that.
Lars chimed in on this and he would take no books, no comment on clothing but I would guess jeans, cozy pants, sport shorts, 3 graphic teeshirts, 1 hoodie since that is basically 100% of his wardrobe anyway.  He is going to take the complete series of “The Young and Restless” since it is 57 years long that should be fun.  He has no childhood artifacts so he is saving space there too.
The point of the tiny house is to use the world as your living room and to not take up gobbs of resources heating or cooling tons of house.  I think the tiny house movement should be encouraged strongly for young people right out of school.  Why pay 50% or more of your salary for an apartment where you get no equity?  Sell it when you get married and want to start a family and you should have a fair downpayment.  The other end of the spectrum is good too, when your family is out on their own, or, you want a separate space but need to live close for one of the many reasons one does in their 70’s.  I would love a yard that could have a tiny house guest house- maybe someday.
Miss Z thought this was a toss away prompt but I really like it and I’m happy to chatter on about a tiny house life and if I got a gazillion dollars at the end the lack of work out wear would be worth it~
Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “In a Tiny house I would…”

  1. Found This Painted That says :

    I loved your choice of photo albums for your books. And how did the Brady’s manage with six kids, a housekeeper and one bathroom, lol! Small houses in my area are “tear-downs” and in their stead are massive houses no one actually lives in since everyone has to work to afford it. Sheesh

    Like

    • kateluthner79 says :

      Thanks for the comment, this was a very nice tiny houses and I have actually looked at tons of them (online). One of the main reasons we are still in this house is that we can afford to have me stay home, and, it really is big enough. The Brady’s were an odd family but I also question where the bathrooms were on The Enterprise… everyone had one in their quarters but were there others? Did they have to ‘run home’ every time they had to go?

      Like

  2. Snoskred says :

    Hey there, I found you via the NaBloPoMo blogroll.

    Well this is a difficult one, can I swap 5 books for my tablet and a solar charger? 😉 We have over 14,000 ebooks which we are sorting through at the moment.

    I probably would pick NYPD Blue as my series, though The West Wing would run a close second. Maybe ER, as that had 15 seasons so there would be plenty to watch and by the time you re-watch you would mostly have forgotten the medical cases.

    As part of NaBloPoMo I try to comment on as many participating blogs as I can, and I also add participating blogs to my feed reader.

    So I’m just dropping by to let you know I’ve added your blog to my feedreader, I’m reading you loud and clear, I have a link up going at my place so my readers can find participating blogs which you are more than welcome to add your blog link to.

    Looking forward to seeing your posts, and you’ll likely see me drop by again during November.

    Happy NaBloPoMo to you!
    Snoskred
    http://www.snoskred.org

    Like

    • kateluthner79 says :

      ER would be a good one too. I agree, I want my ereader and a library card so maybe I can trade that space for a workout outfit? I also try to visit my NaBloPoMo neighbors too and comment it up. Be assured, I blog regularly even in months that don’t start with N. I hope to see you again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

