I’m asking for directions – or suggestions – please

Hi!

Over the past few weeks/months my subscription has grown to over 400, thank you thank you thank you all!  I check out everyone that subscribes and for a while there (last yearish) they were all ‘get rich blogging’ style sites so at least 15 should not count.

 

When I started reading and writing nearly 10 years ago (wow, 10!) blog were new enough that they were fun but they were established enough that there was a crew of ‘A’ list people who ‘started it’ and I joined in specifically to read 3 friends blogs and to write my own so family/friends back home could keep up with my life.  I also joined LiveJournal to keep up with some other friends but I never liked the organization on that site.  In the past 10 years Facebook has become the go-to for the majority of my real life friends and the three people I started with don’t even write anymore – One finished his story, one’s kids grew up, one got ‘in trouble’ with her blog and got disillusioned.  I carried on reading a selection of blogs of people I came to call ‘blog friends’ but over the years many of them stopped writing too.  Right now my feed shows 2 or 3 blog friends that update regularly and a few craft style blogs I check in on.  Basically my feed and link section (on the right) is a wasteland that I need to tidy up.  Every so often I look around but if I add someone new they seem to stop writing that day!  I even logged into livejournal yesterday to see if thats where people were and a friend or two is still there but not many.

Here is my question(s)

 

1. Do YOU have a blog?  If yes and you write fairly regularly please stick it in the comments

2. To my facebook friends – same thing – is there a place you write more than 120 characters?

3. Who would you suggest?  Someone with a POV, someone with an ongoing story, I like to read all sorts but I like there to actually be something to read

4. Where is everyone?  Reddit is a nice place to get news and funnies but it isn’t a personal story – same with twitter.  Instagram is a fun one but not exactly the meat I’m looking for.

 

Thank you in advance.  I really really like reading about people (as apparently 400ish of you do to)

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “I’m asking for directions – or suggestions – please”

  1. pouringmyartout says :

    I do… and I write… posts, novels, kid’s books…
    I cannot recommend any place to read things more than my own blog… because I post 2 to 5 times a day, I am hilarious, you can also get my hilarious action/adventure/humor sci-fi novels and the self-illustrated children’s book. But I throw in a lot of pictures so you can take a break from reading. And I never do the same thing twice… because I have crack squirrels living in my head… oh, and I have one post that has over 36,000 comments on it… we are trying to break the record… and just reading all those comments will keep you busy for a month.
    Also, I have the best commenters on the planet, so my comment sections are at least as funny as my blog, and you can meet some really cool people… so even if you don’t like me, there are places to go.
    Oh, and I share my whole life, my travels, my original music… every thought that pops into my head.

    Like

  2. Karen Moldenhauer says :

    I was thinking of starting a blog for awhile now…

    Like

Leave a Reply

