Facebook

Sorry blog, I cheat on you with Facebook….  Sometimes all I have to say is either really little, or, I need input and Facebook Hive Mind never disappoints.

The question of the day for me was “should my book loving, yet occasional book eating, 2 year old be ‘rewarded’ by giving her back the book she ate enough of that the library does not want it back”

The question was not if I should let her read – she sleeps with books, she loves books, one time we went to the library she INSISTED (in the way only a 2 year old can) that she HAD to bring books with her.  Like coals to Newcastle…  Anyway I had to think fast because if we left the books home she would scream a lot, if we took the books into the library there would be a 50/50 chance that she would leave them there and I would be fined for not ‘returning’ the book so we asked the librarian to check in the books when we got there BUT she held onto them and we later checked them out again.  The librarian was actually tickled that she loved the books so much.  She also tends to love the easy readers that Niamh is reading.  Maybe it is the size/weight of them or maybe the familiar characters but they are the ones she hoards the most.  On the bright side, Niamh can read them to her now.  On the bad side they are more flimsy then books intended for 2 year old hands.

So if anyone was wondering, the hive mind and I concluded that;

1. books are good, she should have books

2. If I catch her eating one it goes away (we already do that)

3. She can get the book back in 15 min after repeating that we “only eat food”.  Thus the fact that she will forever now have a ‘library’ book means little to her and it isn’t like rewarding a dog that kills a chicken with the chicken.

 

It does not hurt at all that the books she likes to nibble are $3 each.  More than at a yard sale but less than in a store.

 

Otherwise my blog time got eaten up earlier in the day by random events of parenting.  Tonight I got in my workout (finally) and now I am cooling down and I just didn’t want that sad post to have any more time on top.  Now on to some tasty dinner!

Leave a Reply

