First day of 1st grade!

I can’t believe I was gone for 5 days here!  Technically I thought I uploaded a picture post but I found it in my draft so …oops…  I’m sure everyone had a busy long weekend and I (as usual) feel like today is Monday.

 

But it is not, it is Tuesday, the first day of first grade for Niamh!

She is nervous and happy and so am I and I spent the rest of the morning wondering where she is and how she is.  Taking her out of our daily equation should not be so impactful but it is.  I miss her playing, I miss her help, I miss her ideas about what to do next!  We are oddly at loose ends without our little ‘boss’.  Good thing I’m the real boss and we did what we normally do on Tuesday and went to the library and I saw a group of fellow moms all short a kid or two.  We went to a playground for a little bit and then home and Fiona actually requested a nap.  There are no sounds of fighting, Zoe has 100% control of the naptime entertainment and I’m sure the novelty of that will wear off soon.

Fiona may have wanted a nap because we had the most fun and busy weekend we could manage.

 

Saturday feels so long ago I hardly remember what we did but we played and went to the store for last minute school stuff and to stock up our home supply of crayons (someone eats them… no really…) and we finished the day with our first evening at the races.  The harness park is very very close so it was easy to go and easy to leave since we invested practically nothing on the trip.  We watched 2 full races and had a great time cheering them on – maybe next time we will bet but we had no idea how so we just watched.  I picked the winner of one of the races so I have an instinct 🙂

Sunday we had an impromptu brunch with friends.  It was a fun gathering that we totally pulled out of thin air and I’m glad that the house has been slowly geting more under control so a quick 1 hour tidy got it to company ready shape.  I tried a new scone recipe and it was well received.  No pictures of anything from that day but I’ll be making the scones again so I’ll take a picture then.  They are super easy, I’m not sure why I avoided them so long!  We had a double header on Sunday because we HAD to go to costco and it was gong to be closed monday so after naps we bravely went out and they were actually pretty good but it was a long day.

 

Monday, the holiday we had zero plans for, ended up festive and fun.  We went to the Mall of America bright and early and got shoes for the kids and then rode the rides.  I finally got to go on one of the good rides and it was actually really fun (log ride btw).  For the past 5 years I’ve been relegated to baby holding or going on the little kid rides but finally Fiona will stay with Lars and actually requests him now.  Who knew cutting off the nummies would level the field so nicely.  We left the mall at 1:30, the absolute latest Fiona can hold out pre nap, and after we all had a nap we went to the park to enjoy the gorgeous day.  I ran a few miles and they played and then home so Lars and Niamh can get to karate because karate never takes a holiday.

Niamh is on the top of the top in this, you can’t see her but she had a great time

I ran the top route

The kids went to bed nicely and woke up just fine and we made it through morning #1 with high marks (in my opinion).  For the rest of the day I will be browsing facebook and thumbs-upping all the other first day of school pictures and today is one of the days I am very very glad to have the internet to share with and be connected to so of my friends.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

