running in the morning

For the past two weeks I’ve gotten to run in the morning.  This is a team effort; Lars wakes up, Fiona acknowledges that I can leave the house without her, and Niamh and Zoe sleep.  Timing on this circus is in constant flux because it is really really  hard to get up before 7am when nobody is awake yet.  I tell myself it is because I would have to wake up Lars to tell him I was leaving and he had to get Fiona when she woke up and shouts cheerfully calls out “I in my Bed!”, and waking others up seems mean.  So, start time is largely decided by when Fiona wakes up +10 min for Lars to get conscious enough to be the responsible adult +2min for me to finish getting stuff ready.  This means I’m out sometime after 7 but back by 9 so Lars can get to work.  The goal is for Lars to work out too, tag team style, but he has had a tad less luck getting out the door (but sometimes is still better then never).

This 2 hour zone thing will not fly once we start back to school.  I either have to get going at 7, or…. I don’t know, wait and see I guess because over planning is a recipe for disaster and disappointment.

I do feel better after 2 weeks of this.  My mile times have crept down and my number of miles possible is creeping up.  There are some fun things to see in this morning zone and in the past 2 weeks I’ve run into;

 

1. Garbage pickup – great big trucks that drive wherever they want with no regard for traditional direction of traffic

2. The Gotez landscaping company that seems to own this town

3. Construction workers standing around looking at yesterday’s work.  They do move fast overall because I see daily progress but they are not moving much pre9am

4. People in very comical outfits taking out trash or letting out dogs.  I suppose they thought nobody was looking

5. Mist/fog/dampness

6. Lots of people going to work making a few of the roads more dangerous then I wish.

 

Things I don’t tend to see between 7:45 and 9 are other joggers or dog walkers.  Running in the early evening it is like a dog parade but not in the morning.  There are very few people out, maybe when I move to 7am I’ll see more, who knows.  Today I did see an older woman and she glanced back at me running up on her and I smiled and encouraged her to ‘run to the corner’.  She did it, and, actually kept running a bit more.  It was really nice to do a little something nice while I was out there (she was obviously exercising).

Unfortunately I am back to feeling ‘exercised’ far too often but I know that it is for the good and probably temporary anyway.  Good thing we have a hot tub~

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

