The little things

Anyone out there indulge in ‘novelty cleaning’?  I’m not sure it really is a real thing, but, it is when you ignore all the mundane cleaning like dishes, socks on the floor, a flotilla of random puzzles mixed with ponies and go for a novel job like the little space that needs to be done but it ever LAST on the list?  That is what I did yesterday….  It sounds silly but I love my newly cleaned laundry room and I keep thinking of things I want to finish up in there; both organizing and building, but alas, the normal stuff needed to be done so that project is back on the back burner.

(For the record, I would love to put up ‘wall’, new shelves… or even better cabinets…)

 

I didn’t have a bad weekend or anything but the laundry room re-do was my real highlight. The weather was odd all weekend so we didn’t actually get out.  I got a bike seat for Fiona but I have to return it because it does not work at all with my bike. I’m tossing lots of old stuff and that is great because I went on a cool date-night with Lars to get new stuff but still…. letting go of old stuff is still a little hard.

 

Speaking of things I’m passing on and/or throwing away; ALL THE NURSING BRAS.  I’m keeping one for sentimental reasons and I’m sure I’ll get rid of it some day too, but, Fiona is finally down to just one feeding a day, at bed, in private so I can wear a normal bra and just adjust for the 10 min or less she needs access.  She has definitely gotten the most breast feeding of them all between being home with her so no daycare bottles, and, no new baby to push her along.  I know we need to be at the end of the line, not because she is biting or mean or misbehaving but she is getting too verbal and intelligent that she can actually request it and be negotiated with….  I honestly can’t believe there is still milk but there is, crazy body doing this for 6+ years more or less straight, it just can’t shut down the works.  Given our glacial pace of weening I don’t predict any need for cabbage on my part so that is in my favor.  Still a race; potty training v weaning – place your bets.

 

This week is dance camp for the girls and after the suffering of last week with the worlds worst teacher I’m due for some happy excited kids I don’t need to bribe to go.  First drop off went really well so I’m optimistic; the teacher is a real grown up with requisite skills AND she had a schedule with things that actually apply to the topic and appeal to the kids (something the last guy failed at 110%).  I had to cancel my morning plans due to impending rain that never happened but I got all the laundry done so that was something.  We have a few outings planned but the real win of today was convincing Lars that he needs to wake up earlier so I can go run before the day starts.  Given the fact that Fiona does not need my personal attention in the morning, he can do this and I can lose the last few pounds I want to.   We did it today and it worked out, 3 miles and a shower before 9am ~ just need to get him to feed the kids while I’m out.  Once school starts I don’t think this will work out but pretty soon it will be subarctic again and I won’t want to run out there.

That is it for me – happy for the little things of the past few days and for the days to come.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

