The charm of timing

Last week I was in the dumps about my inability to get a good ‘win’.  Everything was just off a little to the left if you know what I mean.  Nothing tragic but nothing awesome either.  I am nothing if not optimistic so I charged into this week just working on centering the things I could and the universe gave me a great win today.

 

Timeline…. 2 weeks ago, absolutely no thought to changing our daycare/preschool for the fall.

Monday 4pm – talking to miss Math who happened to call and who has a son the same age as Zoe so she jump starts my brain.

Monday 5pm – kids happily playing and I google ‘preschool’ and ‘forest lake’ and see that yes indeed there is a preschool at Niamh’s school AND it is available on good days AND it is way less expensive than daycare (like half).    There were negatives on first glance, driving time and naps to be considered etc.

Monday 6:30pm – kids splashing in a bath I make a spreadsheet.  Yes.  Seriously.  Want to see it?  Anyway there were some clearly good options.  AND when I really looked at the info not on a tiny phone I noticed that there is a FULL DAY option WITH BUS.  Yup, the same bus Niamh is on…  this eliminates the nap drive issue and also the propensity to devolve into TV while Fiona is asleep.  Still, there is the negative of not having my Zoe….  I feel like I just got them and I have such a short time with them.

Monday 8pm – husband says “whatever you want dear, I trust you have very much analyzed this situation”

Tuesday 12:30 – blessed peace of naptime I make the call to see if there is room in the class and the bus.  Write blog post

Wednesday 10am – get the call that yes there is room and many of my questions answered so I’m feeling better about this decision overall.  Fingers crossed for a bus, have to wait to hear from them.

Wednesday 4pm – yes! bus! cool!  Time to officially register then write a blog about it.

And that is now.  Looking at the dates, I basically looked at this at just about the last day possible and talking to the lady they just got a cancellation on Monday so even if I was more on top of this last month I would have not gotten the same good result.  Sometimes it is very nice to win one.

Only thing left is to tell daycare and they are generally cool about this sort of thing.  Zoe was being bounced around in classrooms and not really forming connections because she just was not there enough/in the same place on the days she was.  This preschool will have a batch of kids all in one class on a regular schedule, I think that will help Zoe.

So big thanks to Miss Math for kicking my brain and to the universe for the help.  This must be the right path for Zoe~

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

