The project of the weekend

I feel like we are in an ever evolving house.  I’m sure when it is perfect and organized and everything is ‘done’ we will just have to move 😉

 

Sometimes I plan things to the smallest detail.  Sometimes I see an opportunity and just jump on it.  Totally different ends of the spectrum and poor Lars has trouble keeping up sometimes but since he generally leaves the kid stuff to me I bet he just figures I told him and he forgot.  This project was kinda a mix.

 

When Fiona was ready to move into a crib we had to displace Zoe from the upstairs bedroom so we adventured to Ikea for a bunk bed BUT only put up most of it.  I left the front/side off and constructed an extra leg to make the bottom rung of the ladder.  That left a  nice space for Zoe in a toddler bed plus some storage.  Recently I started thinking Zoe was getting big and on a vague whim I ordered a mattress last week.  2 days later it arrives!  Zoe is very excited and I contemplated painting the bed and decided to take the easy route and just put the bed together and did not paint.  I’m proud of myself that 2 years later I still had all but 1 tiny piece of the bed!  Somehow we lost a bolt so off to Ikea we went to get a replacement.  I love that Ikea will give you a reasonable amount of replacement parts no problem!  Since we were there we had to shop a bit and it was a nice random outing.  We left with down comforters for the kids and a few little storage things.  They were sold out of the duvet cover so that is on order for us now.

I rolled through the reorganizing of the room like it was my job.  We bought nifty under bed storage when we got the bed and I loaded it up with a few nice ‘baskets’ to semi organize the huge space.  They are very very big and practically all their little toys fit in just one (the other is empty still!).

Sunday Lars ended up sucked into the sharknado of work and I saw him briefly around lunch but he was on a short leash all day chained to his desk.  In the afternoon he had a lull so he played with the girls and I finished up the room and got into the play room too!  Except for the dress up stuff the entire level is organized and it is so nice to be in there right now~

The REAL spur of the moment change was putting the displaced toddler bed into Fiona’s room.  I was not sure she was ready because she is such a good sleeper in her crib but she took the lead on this one and declared the bed sitting in the play room “my bed!”  so into her room it went.  She chicked out the first night and last night too but this nap she slept in the big girl bed.  She is 6 months behind her sisters on this change but hey, nobody is pushing the issue.

The only zone of discontent left is the kitchen level and we just need to ‘fix’ it.  A very good designer friend recommended a layout and now that is all I can see in my head.  I don’t even want to clean the kitchen anymore because I want to level it and restart.  Not going to happen today, or tomorrow… but we need to talk to a builder.  Even if we do end up moving for more total square feet a new kitchen will not hurt us at all.

 

That is the weekend and this week I need to step up the kid activity because I thought we had camp but we don’t.  I missed the fact that there was a 2 week break so for the next two weeks we have far less to do then I expected!  Time to go look at the calendar~

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

