I’ve been here an age

Time passes, sometimes fast sometimes slow…  I often forget that I’ve been here a good amount of time now.  The ENTIRE life of my blog, my cat, my kids…  Not half my life or anything but a chunk of time such that I’m passing a new landmarks.

 

I’ve talked about our two friends that we met here, who we knew at the time of their first date – their wedding was one of those milestones.  That was a happy milestone 🙂  Now I have a sad one…. The very first friend I made in the state (that was not a direct intro from SCA or Lars) has moved away.  She has been absent for months getting ready to move and then frazzled with the details of house selling, moving, kids and any number of things so it isn’t a change in my day to day life ~ but ~ her son was Niamhs first baby friend, her husband is a cool guy that helped pull me more into the photography hobby, their (now sold) house was the first play date I ever went on and she encouraged me and commiserated with me on any number of things since we were at such the SAME point in our lives and for a few years there we visited back and forth every week or two.  Like I said, we changed, they changed and we actually have not spent any time together in over a year I think, but, the good times still bring a smile.

09 1 Jan1 baby friends

 

I’m probably lucky this is the First time someone has moved away.  Moving away myself removed me from any of my high school, hometown or college friends leaving and meeting a ‘fresh’ batch of people kinda restarted that clock.

I am also very lucky that it isn’t a worse milestone (like death of a person I met here…) but I’m totally looking forward to a good milestone like someone I met here having a baby!  Ok, technically I know lots of people who have had babies here but I’m talking about someone whose relationship I saw from the beginning have a baby (no pressure, just looking forward to the day someday).

Things always change but most changes are subtle.  It is landmarks like the passing of a friendship that let me know that I’ve been here long enough to find, have and loose.  However, as I say to the kids often; Don’t be sad its over, be happy it happened.

 

ps. they only moved an hour away so I’m really just being sentimental.

pps. Sentimental Sunday will not be a thing, I promise

ppss. Selfie saturday is not forgotten, my phone is just full of pictures so I need to do some hard deleting to make space.

pppss. To my work friends that read, I’m not discounting the losses of your day to day  friendships, but, they are filed under the subheading of “change job”.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

