Summer summer summer!

Summer vacation!  Last year ‘summer’ was a season and we did different seasonal things and we went to NY but there is way more excitement when SCHOOL ends and SUMMER begins.  It is nice to have such a stark contrast between yesterday and today, an ending and a beginning – it gives my brain something to make a 90 degree turn around rather than the sloping slide and shift of seasons like so many of the past years where a tuesday in July was just warmer than a tuesday in February or October but I was doing the same thing with minor variation…

 

Over the past few frantic days we did a ton and so today feel extra like vacation because there isn’t a huge pressing agenda.  I do have things to do for the party saturday but today I’m enjoying the clean house and happy rested kids that (2 of 3) slept until nearly 8am and a sunny day where we went to our favorite park and played for 2 hours and I hung out with half a dozen of my MOMs club friends.  Today so far is a win.

Yesterday was a bit of a marathon.  We got up and out for the last day, wrangling the picture I posted yesterday.  Then off to see Niamh ‘graduate’  as one of 120 Kindergarteners.  It was an impressively large group of kids and even more impressive is that they had choreography that 95% of them were doing at the same time.  There were songs and then a movie of pictures from the year then cookies and good bye.

14June 14June-001 14June-002 14June-003

 

We were actually at home at the time they said the program would be over and that was a good thing so I could clean without being frantic.  Thankfully I had some help too and it was fun to finish up the details and I even had time for a few cute touches.  It was a fun party with our friends and they were all so generous and thoughtful with birthday gifts for our kids that I don’t think I could ever ask for better friends to share my kids with.

 

Bedtime was late but easy and then I went off to bed to finish my book and today started and thus the summer.

 

one Note on the subject of Kindergarten Graduation – I remember mine vaguely and I liked it then and now because it was a real GRADUATION meaning I moved on from there.  I left that school and started another.  There is big talk these days about how things are going over the top for kindergarten and how they aren’t ‘going’ anywhere for most of them.  Niamh’s school was careful to call it a program in most written things, but, it had a cap and a speech and big ‘good bye we will miss you!” from everyone.  Until today my knowledge of this was personal and first hand but today I have a second reference point.  Niamh was worried she was not going back to that school because of the level of goodbyeness.  She likes to know what will happen next and I had to assure her that she was going there next year and maybe not every kid would but that would be true every year.  I like that there was a celebration but my gut feeling that it was ‘without real reason’ is validated and I would have been just as happy if not more so to have had a last day picnic or something.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

