Milestones

It has been ages since I recorded any ‘official’ milestones but here is where I put anything that I want to remember in the future so better in paragraph form then trusted to my memory (that is good but not perfect)

 

Zoe – still talks a mile a minute and her vocab is fab but her achievement of the month is nighttime without a pullup!  She actually asked me to ‘tell facebook’ that she is undies only now.  There was a good month of  dry pull ups with only 1 or 2 nights where they were damp that gave me some confidence.  The other factor is that we got a different brand of pullup (Huggies) and they don’t seem very absorbant and the 1 night that she really went the pullup leaked anyway.  I was getting ready to return them and say the are defective because they sure are not effective but in the end they are going on a shelf in storage for when #3 needs them.

 

Niamh – with the end of Kindergarten looming, I can say with confidence that she knows the basic addition and subtraction functions up to 2 digits, she is solid on money, competent at reading (but little confidence)  and overnight went from having zero idea of what a clock ment to 100% on analog and digital.  I think she has Kindergarten under her belt.

 

Fiona – talking! talking! talking!  wow, don’t know if I can handle 3 chatterboxes but I guess I am their mom so maybe just pity Lars.  It is fantastic for her to SAY what she WANTS because baby sign only gets you so far.  She was saying the normal Mama, dada, dog, cat  plus gaining new nouns or verbs regularly for a few months, she was at or above par at her checkups but in the last 3 weeks she has language explosion.  Like walking, she went from almost nothing to running but with words.  Now she will say (understandably to anyone not just be and other tot moms) “Mama, where are you?” or “I hun-gee” or “Zoe close door, I wan to play too!” and she says apple juice, orange juice, milk, coffee and mommy drink (meaning beer).  With 2 sisters  I was expecting either her to say nothing because Zoe would speak for her, or, catching on fast because if you don’t speak up you don’t get a cookie (not surprisingly, one of her first words)

 

Physically all 3 have sprouted taller, Niamh can reach counters and sinks now and Zoe is growing out of her tot bed.  Fiona is still a peanut but a taller one, she STILL only weighs 21lb but she is taller.  Good thing it is summer so I can put her in 12-18m skirts and shorts and nobody will know they are too short and they will actually stay up on her.

 

So that is them right now.  I don’t care to document their madding annoying behavior because I hope to forget it over time but if you are reading this and feeling any sort of bad please note I’m documenting the positives/milestones I want to remember.  I will probably mention the day that they quit nose picking, or fighting bedtime but that day is still in the future…

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

