Weekending

So far yesterday was a bit of a fail since I was under the weather but today has gone well!

I’m building a planter box to plant all the mosquito repelling plants possible; Marigolds, catnip, mint, citronella, and Rosemary (and Lavender).  I think Mr Pink will like the catnip, lets hope that means he won’t use it as a litter box….  The planter is going directly next to the swings in the mosquito haven in the back of the yard but I’ll also make a few containers for on the deck too.

 

Incredibly easy to construct.  I took 8ft landscape timbers and measured it by the swings for size – ended up with 5ft length leaving me with 3ft leftover but I trimmed it down to 2ft for a better size, and, it gave me a few handy shims/feet to use on the slope where needed.

Home Depot has the timbers on sale for 1.93 each and for 1 box I used 4 timbers and 10 fasteners.  The fasteners are wicked looking!  If I ever need to nail someone to a cross these are the things….  They go into the timbers very nicely and now we have a sturdy box ready for dirt and flowers.  (I don’t buy flowers before the container is actually constructed because sometimes life happens and plants die waiting.)

I used two levels and lincoln-logged it with one level being 5f and 2f and the next level was 79in and 15in.  I lined it with some leftover painters plastic and I plan on getting dirt asap since it only took 1/2 an hour to construct and that included considerable ‘help’ from the girls. (who kept running off with my tape measure and marker)

 

these were white already

We are also repainting our old patio furniture white, because it will look awesome with our deck.

 

– Lars is the spray paint master.

I had the kids out at 8:30 cleaning the cushions and I had good help until about 8:45 but better then nothing.  They played nicely and I got my arm workout scrubbing off last summer and all winter and they look reasonable now.

good effort Fiona… please note her ‘scrubber’ is a flip flop

 

Not exactly yacht club season opening or a grand BBQ but with every thing I did today from my flagrant overuse of water to my ability to run to the store and pickup whatever my heart desired to the ability to pull out my chop saw and construct; I thought about all the people who went before me to earn these rights.  This year again I count my blessings that I know nobody personally that has died in a military operation and my soldier relatives are either still kicking or died very old men.  Hope I can say the same next year~

Happy Memorial Day weekend all my American Friends and to everyone else have a great weekend too

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

