Active day

I see a theme, Fiona loves to watch people work.  I bet she has a future in management.

Selfie Saturday will be selfie postponed this week so I can do my selfie with a pretty new deck that should be done sometime tomorrow (why would he lie?)

My life is full of  postponements, half my Tivoed shows were messed up due to a certain local hockey team doing great (but doing it in overtime!).  I’m very happy for the fans but at a certain point I just start hoping the season is near the end.  TV is really not so bad, when I was in school in the city I lothed the baseball people and their taking of all the parking and their wandering in hoards on the street.  I actually rooted for everyone but the twins so their season would finish already!  I know, I’m unamerican, but I like my sports fine until they start inconveniencing something.

Today’s race was ok, I forgot to take a picture of myself.  There were maybe 100 runners, I think I came in 7th or 8th.  My time was not awesome for a ton of reasons that boil down to excuses but I can fix some of them for next time.  All said, the Lino Lakes run was on a nice flat, not too windy course.  The negative was that it is on twisty turn filled roads so my map-my-run looks like a drunk pinball.  I did wear the new shoes because last race my old shoes gave me a blister so couldn’t do worse with new ones.  The kids were at the finish line cheering for my 24m race.  It was a productive morning since I woke up at 5 with Fi and pre race I cooked breakfast for us and packed waffles for the sleepers.  I cleaned up applejuice, I cleaned more apple juice, I delt with a mad Fiona when I took away her cup.  I even loaded the dishwasher before getting everyone up to leave.  I wanted a nap when we got home but I also wanted to meet the deck guy so I did all the sheets and harassed my #1 and 2 to clean their room since yesterday’s game of dump every single toy out to play “Pony Land Trash Day” was pretty epic.  They were 2 hours late but called so I puttered and did lunch and slept while the baby slept (I can still call her a baby even though she kinda talks now).  I did get a nice nap and now I’m doing my ‘at the computer’ stuff.

The deck guys got all the loose paint up but we made the decision to just go with another paint rather then try to get down to stainable wood.  They spent 7h and it is pretty bare on the decking but the rails just don’t have any weakness.  I’m anti uber chemical so our options are limited.  Once nap time is over (Zoe is asleep too!  see what getting up at 6:45 will do) we are off to the home despot to  get the new color and a replacement board for a spot that just could not handle 7 years of abuse and neglect.  Bonus, deck guy is putting in new board.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

