running quandry

It must be a symptom of spring, I really really want to run outside.  I can’t quite yet because there is still snow and ice spots and I don’t want to run in the middle of the road so I get on the treadmill and do that.  Recently I’ve been getting notes from friends about cool 5K races coming up and while I want to run, somehow a 5K has become ‘so last year’ in a way because everyone around me is doing a half marathon AT LEAST!  I know for sure that there are probably 100:1 people I know that don’t run v run any distance but the runners are the ones my brain focuses in on.

 

In my far past I was a fast XC runner, sub 18min personal best and that included hills.  I had a great coach, a great team, and I was training daily and running a race every weekend.  I just spent 20 min looking for a link to the state rankings in my senior year where I believe I was #200 in the state but it is missing (in that 20min I could have done a 5k and got a drink…).  Anyway, back then I never thought of running more than a 5k but now that just seems like a baby distance because of the distance runners around me.  All about perspective I suppose.  I think that I will do a race or two this year,  most likely a 5k, I think it is important for the kids to see their mom do active and competitive things.  I have to strike a balance in training because I don’t want (and can’t have without sitters) too much time away from them, but, I also don’t want to embarrass myself at a race.  That is the #1 reason I won’t do a marathon – they take real training so I will put that on the list of things to do after I have time – that will be someday after all 3 children can independently wipe their own bottoms but hopefully before they are all in college.

 

Right now I would settle for a whole hour to actually run outside because currently my treadmill time is highly scheduled around when I can get kidcare and before meltdown nap time.  Tons better than no time, but not as good as real running freedom.

 

Anyone want to run a 5k with me?

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

