Malaysia Air – thoughts

I try not to go all ‘world news’ here but I can’t help but follow the lost Malaysia Airlines story and it looks like today they finally say they found evidence that it terminated in the southern Indian Ocean.  http://abcnews.go.com/International/missing-malaysia-airlines-plane-ended-south-indian-ocean/story?id=23033246

 

I’ve actually been on that late night flight to China.  I read a creepy book in the empty Malaysia airport waiting for a midnight flight.  Of all the Asian airlines Malaysia air was by far my favorite.  Of the business contacts I’ve made over 10 years I would actually call one of the Engineers at the Malaysian company we worked with a real friend and I am genuinely fond of quite a few others at the company.  It is a great country and I’ve long said if I had to leave the US that is where I would go.

feeding monkeys by the road

One of the things I loved about Malaysia was the true multiculturalism.  There were Indians, Chinese, and Native Malaysian working with no prejudice.  I had been hoping that the plane was hijacked and landed somewhere in Australia but I hope now that the end was not terrifying.  Actually, I still hope they are wrong – seriously, India is not on the way from Malaysia to China…

 

I will still travel.  I will still worry about my former coworkers who travel often but they are in far more danger of being pickpocket, scammed, or contracting something unpleasant from native veggies.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

