Near holiday and parenting fail saved by Fiona

Fiona, yes Fiona, is the reason we remembered to celebrate St Patrick’s day and not fail my Niamh (most Irish name!).

 

In my defence, this is the first day back from a week off and I need reminders of holidays and there was no reminding.  The day actually started off FABULOUS because I opened my eyes and saw an angelic and miraculous vision of NIAMH DRESSED a full 30 min before normal.  I didn’t even think about what she was wearing because it Appeared weather appropriate B. fit C. was clean and D. she did it herself.  She did this to earn iPad time and I’m ok with that because I was not ready to get out of bed yet but we started out the day well.

Then we take the radical left turn of Zoe who is in an anti-school stage and will rebel by refusing to put on any clothing, especially something I selected.  So she wore, in the end, a leopard print shirt and jeans (under duress).

Meanwhile, Fiona finished breakfast, filled her diaper – I changed it, and then I got her dressed in the first 2 things that came to hand.  She was super hot to go in the car and got her own shoes and coat and was waiting by the door before we coaxed Zoe into putting socks on and getting near her coat.

Lars gets back with Fiona and Fiona basically wants to go OUT.  She is happy and jumpy and not in the mood to chill at home and do laundry etc.  I decide, sure, why not let the 1.5 year old decide every so often and so we get ready to go to Shoreview because that is the only place I can think of.  While packing lunch I hear that it is St Patricks day!  OMG, Niamh is wearing purple I think….  Quick change for Fiona because I was reserving this dress just for the day and I packed a green shirt I was saving for me and out the door.  At a light I hear an add for ‘shamrock shake’ and I hatch a parenting win plan.  I was heading for shoreview with perfect timing to be done in time to go to Niamhs school for lunch AND there is a McDonalds on the way.

Because Fiona wanted to go out we figured out that it was a holiday and how to make it a win for Niamh too.  Things didn’t work out exactly as planned at shoreview because kidcare was full but we played basket ball instead and ran around the track and left earlier than planned and that actually worked out perfectly because there was a line at the drive through.  If I thought Niamh’s face was great when she was expecting me, it is even more awesome when she isn’t and it is triple good when I come with a delicious and minty ice cream beverage.

The laundry is far less done then I would like but I think that is ok considering.

Fiona is my lucky charm today, hope you all had good luck today too.

 

ps.  to the extremists on St Patrick’s day I say ‘please chill’.  At Niamh’s school there was a ton of green but plenty of kids in regular outfits (including Niamh) and I did not walk away thinking that any were ‘in protest’ or anything as serious.  Facebook is a bit full today of people LOUDLY boycotting and I think the loudness takes away from your theory of ignoring a holiday you don’t believe-in/qualify-for.  Same message to the others who shout their Irishness like crazy.  For the record, I’m 75% Irish and was even born there and it was never a big deal in my house.  Getting a shamrock shake from McDonalds is maybe the most effort I have put into it for years.

 

pps.  I will add pictures once Fiona is awake

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

