and the visit week is over

Lars is back, thank goodness.  Fiona was sure he was in his office and kept trying to go find him.  We did FaceTime but it just is not the same.  He had a wholly un-fun time but at least the weather was nice.  Funerals are just not fun affairs but this one included a few more un-fun elements then normal so although he is home he needs a vacation from the vacation.  

On the bright side, while he was gone my mom was here.  They are not substitutes for each other but it was great to have my mom around and the kids loved having her too.  She is a great reader and listener to reading and always had time and a lap for a granddaughter and that is a very good thing while I was managing all the continuation of life solo.  The travel exchange worked as planned, Lars arrived at 1 and Mom left at 3 so for 2 hours we hung out at the Mall of America.  Mom was amused by the rides and general fun and Lars was buoyed up by doing something easy and fun with his girls.  We all left when we had to bring mom to catch her plane because everyone was tired.

On the dark side, it was a hard week with interrupted sleep and I had trouble maintaining 2 thoughts at the same time much less good patience for the random nonsense of 3 little girls.  They are just like other kids I’m sure with the picking at each other, putting things in their mouth, disagreeing and correcting me… and usually I can handle it but my tolerance is  proportional to my level of sleep.  I will hope that tonight will be normal and tomorrow will be a fresh week with nothing out of the ordinary for 4 days.

On a complete tangent; Fiona is getting on board with the potty training.  I am well aware this is going to be a long process since she is currently too short to even get on a toilet, she does go when we put her on the potty.  She can’t hold it in-between but she seems interested in sitting when I suggest it.  Her language is improving daily and today she actually told me she had to go and I call that a very good sign.  I need to make a goal date, maybe summer?  Lets see how this week goes but I won’t be sad to be done with my constant nearly 6 year relationship with huggies.

To finish it up, here are a few other pictures from the week

guarding their eggs

Niamh is a silly bad driver, but, she is only 5

 

It was a good visit with my mom but at the same time a few days I missed Lars.  Cheers to a new week.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

