Zoe may control the weather….

This morning Zoe crept into my bed about 5 am.  Not my favorite time but far better than 3am but not as good at 7:25 (we get up at 7:30).  At some point she asks if it is a school day and I tell her “no, not for you only for Niamh, today we are going to Shoreview”.  At that point she starts to whimper that she just wants to stay home, no kidcare, not playground nothing…  I tell her that we need to just focus on breakfast (because lack of food is usually what is making her sad) and up we get to start the day.  She persists in saying that it is not a good day to go out and we should stay home and do puzzles.

I look out the window…. I see a minor blizzard.

School, ironically, still happening.  I think they are just going to power through the snow because they have already missed 10 days in January (2 for teacher in-service day, 5 arctic closures, 3 days around new years) and can’t miss much more.  Lars brings Niamh to the bus, I contemplate if I should go out.

I swear the snow got stronger as I looked and I decided Zoe is right, this is a good home day.  She must have really wanted a home day to conjure up 6 inches of snow.  We made the right decision because my facebook is alive with talk of 3 hour commutes, big accidents, and tons of near misses with skidding and poor visibility.  This is my exit by the way…

We doodled around and in fact did do puzzles.  Zoe is pretty decent if she is not impeded by a Fiona-zilla. Fiona amused herself for a very long time putting caps on travel cups and water bottles.  I pulled them out of the step* because they were not fitting right and I had two clean ones to put away but they are still out because she had such a good time.

Not leaving the house gets to me because I feel like the day loses shape, but, not leaving the house does mean we have time to do things without a rush.  I’m far more wimpy about driving in snow then arctic so home we are.

The afternoon is looking nice, temps are reasonable that I might bundle up the crew and do the driveway but there also are more puzzles to do.  I am very very happy on days like this to be home because I am willing to bet too many people drove this morning because they already missed work due to school closing and felt they had to get in today.  School closings are such a loaded topic I’m not touching them with a 50 foot pole.

*yes I said step.  Did I ever write up the fact that we did add storage to our stairs?  I don’t see anything in a quick archive search so here is our ‘secret’ step

ignore the cups etc, they really go IN the storage.  If you look closely you will see a small gap on the side

When you have stairs everywhere in your house they really do become furniture.  All good furniture should have storage.  Our steps open up on a hidden hinge and have room for all the water bottles and travel mugs plus sunblock and a first aid kit.  Travel mugs and water-bottles are just so big we had no good place before and now they have the perfect home.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

