This weekend

Oh such an inspired title…  I notice though that I did two craftie posts in a row and I actually have another 3 in the queue waiting so I must be either getting better at carving out craftable time, or, the kids are needing slightly less then 110% attention.  (maybe both!)

 

I had put my sewing machine and its bff the surger away because we had a string of playdates and inevitably absence makes the heart grow fonder.  I kept finding more things that needed sewing that saturday I broke out the machine and got through more projects then I have in years.

– I finished/fixed the garb the girls were given for Christmas.  They are super cute but each was missing one little finish and Niamh and Zoe both ripped the hem/side seam because the hem was not quite intended for girls running marathons at top speed.  *sewing tip* since I can’t add to the circumference of the bottom since I don’t have the fabric, I just finished the slit seam nicely and I hope nobody will comment.

 

– I made an apron out of some old jeans.  It is super cute and super necessary since I get ‘help’ washing dishes and that help likes to squeeze the sponge on me.  I need a splash guard for life… Now I know why 50s housewives are shown with aprons all the time.

 

– I cut out 3 matching aprons but they are not finished yet

 

– The pj set for Niamh that was originally for Zoe but she said she did not like the bears so I finished it off for Niamh.  She has since changed her tune and making the PJ’s was so incredibly easy I might be looking for more sacrifices in my closet.

 

That is 4 different projects and 8 items that had a date with my sewing machine, good for me!

 

Otherwise we hung out and did the normal weekend stuff with the notable exception of going to the local super bouncing sky zone.  It was jaw droppingly expensive, but, it was a whim and worked out well and is something I’ll find coupons for in the future.

they make you buy their special socks, but, they are pretty cool

 

Fiona took a while to warm up but the location we went to was small enough that she could roam a fair distance and still be in sight and safe.  I think she liked walking on the paths between trampolines as much as bouncing.  We bought an hour and that was just a bit too long.  All three kids were devolving but we still had an overall great time.

some day I’ll go with a good camera…

In possibly related news I have minor whiplash but that does happen to me every so often when I sleep wrong too so I’m not sure if I can blame the bouncing.  I plan on going again for their tot tuesday deal ($4 and hour!) so I will see how that goes.

 

Now it is an odd Monday with Niamh home for arctic temps again.  Maybe I should just expect her home on Mondays because I don’t think she has been to school on a Monday all month.  I’m glad the school is playing it safe, I’m also glad this is kindergarten not a super important year – this must be driving the teachers with lesson plans insane.  For me, I just have an extra helper girl as we do what we do.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

