Year End and my perpetual confusion about where I am and what day it is.

We are home again and in the strange time-warp of coming home at an odd time during a holiday week.  Usually we are in NY until NewYear so I always mentally say good-bye to the MN year before we leave but this year we got home with 2 days to spare.  It was good to  have these days to unwind and sleep a bit and get back on track, but, we have zero New Years plans because we are never here that day.  Given the 3 under 6 crowd I don’t think we would have really planned anything but as of now (5:30 NYE) the plan is to play some games, eat dinner, experiment with Keurig drinks, watch a family movie and hopefully have a nice time at home.  The normal swim lesson and workout for a normal Tuesday is out the window.

Taking one step back, to any who were wondering the return flight was highly uneventful.  We got there in plenty of time. Suncountry is in an international terminal of JFK so it was us, those going to South Africa and those going to the Middle East – you can guess who was the minority in that place.  Big positive; Hummus!  The girls feasted on hummus and declared it way better then McDonalds.  It was a full flight but the nice Indian man who sat next to us was extremely nice.  He thought Fiona was a baby goddess and said he missed having people fall asleep on him since he is used to Inda level crowd and for any that don’t know, that makes a normal cramped airplane seem perfectly acceptable.  Another cultural difference; I asked if he had kids and he said “No! I’m only 35… maybe in a few years”.  I didn’t tell him I was younger but age is pretty relative and culture is pretty strong and I wish him well on his quest for a wife (in a few years when he goes back to India per plan).  I really do like meeting people on airplanes, just like Fight Club says, it is a nice little mini friendship.

We came home to a clean house thanks to cleaning mania before we left but in no time we made it look like 67 kids lived here.  Returning on a Sunday was odd but then we swapped daycare days and Niamh is still on vacation so I’m constantly wondering what day it is.  I remind myself that today is Tuesday even though I did no Tuesday things and quite a few Monday things…. whatever… at some point it will be the weekend and next week will get back to ‘normal’.

No time tonight for an introspective of 2013 – I have kid dinner to referee and then hopefully a beer in the hot tub to ring in the new year.

All the best to all of you – see you in 2014 (except for my friends in Australia that are there already 😉

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

