Guest Blogger!

Hi Everyone – today’s post (after this bit) is written by Kendra.  She reads the blog and is thinking of starting her own and asked if I would share her post about holiday traditions.  I read it (obviously) and she has some fun traditions both ethnically and personally and I hope you enjoy.  I’m running like a chicken today getting ready so I’m very glad to have something to share!

********

Love and Laughter for the Holidays

‘Tis the time once again when people walk with a little more joy and the music carries

a seasonal tune. Everyone is buying gifts to put under the tree, and in Chicago, it is a

wonderland of excitement as winter is in the air. We hold certain traditions each year

to celebrate the Christmas holiday. My family is Norwegian, and we try to carry those

traits over with our food and drinks.

Before Christmas arrives, we make lefse and kringla as a family. When Christmas Eve

arrives, we each shoot a raw oyster down our throats at the same time. This is a way

that we all get a good laugh during the holidays. After the oyster shoot, we have a nice

bowl of oyster stew. Our family toast consist of a shot of Akvavit, and we all shout Skol

instead of Cheers

One of the things that my children like to do during the winter season is ice-skating.

We decorate a tree that stands in front of the bay window, and doing it as a family is a

tradition. The children bake a Norwegian dinner in the kitchen with me, and we follow

by baking a variety of cookies that we decorate. Each year, we make cups of cocoa to

enjoy with the cookies. On Christmas Eve, we make reindeer dust that we sprinkle

outside of the bedrooms of the children. This helps the reindeer find the house easily

because the glitter in the dust sparkles at night in the moonlight. This is something my

children love to do each year.

My job has took my across the globe. However, I enjoy being home for the holiday

season. There is nothing I enjoy more than being with my family during the Christmas

season. We cherish the old traditions, and we make new ones each year. I love seeing

the fresh white snow on the ground. One article that I read on Gogobot’s blog talked

about white holidays compared to warm holidays. I have traveled to several climates

where it is very warm. However, warm weather does not go well with Christmas. There

is no way that I would trade the winter snow and fragrant evergreen trees for sandy

beaches and palm trees at Christmas.

The only thing I have known is a cold Christmas, and it works for the Thornton family.

This year, we are staying inside and inviting our relatives to join us in celebrating the

holidays with food, many laughs and the company of loving people.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

