Creative Inheritance

Welcome to Week Three of the month-long Carnival of Creative Mothers to celebrate the launch of The Rainbow Way: Cultivating Creativity in the Midst of Motherhood

by Lucy H. Pearce


Today’s topic is Creative Inheritance. Do read to the end of this post for a full list of carnival participants. 


Join the Carnival and be in with a chance to win a free e-copy of The Rainbow Way! Next week is our final week!

December 11th: The Creative Process.



**********

Week 3 of the Creativity carnival here is week 1 (unofficial) and week 2.  I like the twist on what I normally talk about, I especially like that the topics were listed out a month ago so they had time to mature in my head.   The topic this week is Creative Inheritance.  If I had not already written about how my parents were integral in how grew up knowing that to create is a positive thing, I might have gone down that path for this post.  Instead I’m going toward a different angle, one that my father brings up occasionally, an angle that speaks to how the things you create become some of the most physical part of what you leave behind in the world.

Since this topic has been in the back of my brain for a few weeks I have a little bit of ‘red car’ syndrome.  For example, a few nights ago we watched the new cybercop show “Almost Human” when they discussed the concept of death and given one is a fancy robot his concept of death is different, but, in the end the line was “dead is dead, the question is if you are remembered”.   I like that line and I hate it at the same time.  What am I doing to be memorable?  I’m blogging a lot, I document my world in pictures but most of what I do is intangible and unless a future historian digs into the ‘blog era’ for anthropological look at 21st century life I can’t see much of what I am doing lasting past my lifetime (not counting my kids, they better last).  Thus the concept of inheritance, what are you leaving your children and the world – how did you make your mark.

My mother, the historian as well as knitter, sighs often about the lack of historical knitting.  Fiber does not last forever but the lack of it in museums sometimes makes people believe that knitting was not done in the middle ages.  On the other hand, my father loves to work in wood, something that he has the ability to see examples of from nearly every culture and time.  Wood LASTS.  I will have to ask what drew him to wood since he was raised in a different time and place where getting your hands dirty was not a good thing, but, he has taken it on as a second calling.*  For years his creations were for our house or given away and he still gives away tons but after a while his production was saturating the family market so he has put some things on etsy and goes to a few high end craft shows.  Adding these outlets his work is spread all over the US and to our family in Ireland and England and possibly some in Australia and who knows where else.  I know I gave something he made to a woman who lived in Sweden…  Anyway, Dad is glad to know that there is a piece of his work in all our homes and even though he will live to 99, his work will live another 300 years or more, that is my future inheritance.

For now, I have a fine collection of dad’s work.  I have little boxes my cards are in, the large trunk he made me in college that it my bench seat at the kitchen table.  His candle stick holders are at all my candle lit dinners.  A few years ago he made ornaments out of a seed pod and I always feel like (if he tried) he can see me from the eye holes in the wood (thus it is hanging in my kitchen).  The most sentimental thing he has made me is a large platter that was from the tree in our front yard that we had a tire swing and a rope ladder and I read for hours in the branches of.  It came down after Sandy but I am glad I have a piece of it forever. I can go on and on and list a thing in every room of the house dad made or helped me make; these are things and the ideas I will hand down to my children.

I know I said I was going to leave the ‘inheritance of creativity’ to others but I can not skip it completely.  I have inherited an ability to be creative both by my nature and by my nurture.  I do different things then my parents and all my sisters do things too, tangible things like drawings and needlework and less tangible like playing the guitar but the urge to make and do is something I did not think was unique until a few weeks ago.  My husband lost his father very early and his mom was a very nice lady but she didn’t spend a lot of time teaching him things and he has had to learn how to cook from me (a little) and youtube (a lot).  I think seeing what I got from my parents makes him sad about his parents.  To that end, Lars has been teaching Niamh how to cook thus making her creative inheritance potentially greater.

*we joke dad became a vet because animals didn’t talk but then he realized there were owners that do. Wood really does not talk back…


**********

  • exclusive access to a private Facebook group for creative mothers
  • a vibrant greetings card and book-mark of one of the author’s paintings.

Kindle and paperback editions from Amazon.co.uk Amazon.com Book DepositoryBarnes and Noble



Or order from your local bookshop.

  • Carnival host and author of The Rainbow Way, Lucy at Dreaming Aloud celebrates her creative fairy godmothers, and gives thanks for the creative blessings that each has gifted her.
  • In
    ‘From Trash To Treasure: Christmas Decoration’ Laura from Authentic Parenting shares fond memories crafting with her mom and a little
    project her mom did recently. 

  • Lucy Pierce from Soulskin Musings celebrates the rich creative inheritance of her mother’s poetic soul and artful ways. 
  • Is thinking differently a curse or a gift? Zoie at TouchstoneZ susses out whether her family legacy might hinder or encourage creativity.
  • Pippa at Story of Mum says she is: Thanking my mum for the gift of dance. I am not a dancer, but her love for dance showed me how to connect to my creative core.”
  • Dawn Collins at TheBarefootHome Dawn thinks we’re all born with a creative inheritance from the mother we all share…Mother Nature.
  • Licia Berry at Illumined Arts reflects on the creative inheritance passed on by our ancestral lineage, discovered through sexuality and the Sacred Feminine within, and her own amazing recovery.
  • Alex at The Art of Birth explores the nature of creativity. 
  • Handcrafts are prayers, that’s what Corina from PatchScrap learned from grandmother.
  • Jennifer at Let Your Soul Shine retraces her creative inheritance from her childhood and all the way back to the 19th Century.  
  • Whitney Freya at Creatively Fit is inspired by the sacred spark within each of us, a spark that transcends time and is infinitely creative.
  • Kirstin at Listening to the Squeak says “I have always known my creative inheritance and it is so very important for my children to know theirs.”
  • Creative Inheritance is a Beautiful Thing, says Aimee at Creativeflutters and discusses where her creativity comes from and what influences in her family have helped her on her artistic journey. 
  • Georgie at Visual Toast shares her creative inheritance.
  • Esther at Nurture Workshop expresses the gift of a creative mind and the doors that are waiting to be opened for those who are willing to explore.
  • Denise at It Begins with a Verse  looks back at her family’s creative inheritance.
  • Lys at Stars and Spirals looks at the creative inheritance as described by the astrological chart, drawing on her personal journey into motherhood and reawakened creativity.
  • Biromums wrote poems about their creative inheritance.
  • Kae at The Wilde Womb reflects on the various artists within her family and how it has shaped her identity and what impression she wishes to leave her own children. 
  • Marit’s Paper World shares her creative inheritance.
  • Knitting blankets and the inner landscape–my mother’s life’s work, writes Nicki from Just Like Play
  • Something Sacred – Sadhbh at Where Wishes Come From writes about how the creativity of the women in her family has influenced her.
  • Ali Baker is a creative mama to twin girls who reignited her creative energy and sense of who she used to be by just doing it and creating whatever needs to be created in an imperfect way. 
  • KatyStuff hopes inheritance is a long way off, but, when the day comes her woodworker father has already said he is comforted by knowing his work is in so many homes.
  • Jasmine at Brown Eyed Girl realizes that the creativity she craves for so deeply may actually be something that runs deeper than just her imagination.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Creative Inheritance”

  1. pmizzi says :

    He just had an etsy order from Japan. One more country covered 🙂

    Like

  2. Lucy Pearce says :

    Thanks for your contribution! (And just to say, I read your “Gripe” post – we are guilty of cancelling our women’s group if there is “just” one… ooops, it really is never personal on our end.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

