Looking Forward

Everyone I see now that I’m back asks me about my vacation.  How does one describe of month with 3 distinctly different parts?  I just boil it down to ‘very nice but long’ because that is in a nutshell.  I also want to forget about that fail of a few days plus it is far more interesting to talk about the things to come.

First, my previous years of feeling of incompleteness about September will be over because Niamh starts Kindergarten!  We went to the open house yesterday and I hope I made the right decision because apparently I made a POPULAR decision – Niamh is one of 110 Kindergartners in her school.  They created 2 new classrooms so now there are 5 classes of 22 kids.  The teacher we got seems nice but disorganized, this is her first year in the Kindergarten teacher role but she is a tenured teacher.  Hopefully they don’t eat her alive and more importantly I hope she starts all the kids on a good path.  The real negative about the school is no AC so sundresses for the foreseeable future.  Good thing Niamh got used to heat in PA and NY…  Niamh is ‘scarcited’ (a ponyville word) and she is going through the list of things that she will miss out on and I had to solemnly swear last night we would do nothing super-fun without her.  She actually will have a pretty posh schedule.  The bus gets her at 8:45 and that is well after when we are all normally up, dressed and fed.  She will even get to play or watch a show or something if the dressing and feeding go in a timely fashion.  She will be back at 4:25 and that is not so far off when we actually get out for afternoon things anyway so half the time she will probably get picked up by the crew and we will all go do our pm activity.  She will miss things but hopefully the fun of the day will balance that out.

After school starts we have a zone of establishing a new normal.  I’m scarcited about just having 2 kids to troop about town.  Niamh is honestly a help with lots of things, she plays with her sisters, she fetches things, she is good at remembering lists at the grocery store and she is great about deciding what thing to do next and helping get ready for it.  I worry that Zoe will just aimlessly wander and talk to herself but I’m sure she will rise to the occasion.   When I started staying home last year Zoe was my weakest link since she could not be counted on to sit still in a story time but she has come a long way and is not too far behind where Niamh was when I started.  Funny how the aging thing works in such a linear fashion

I realized Wednesday that my last ‘normal’ week was last month.  This week was odd with no daycare and extra things to do and next week Niamh to school.  There is a few months of the new routine and then Fiona is set to start daycare 2x a week after Jan 1 and what will I do with 2 days a week with NO KIDS?!?  I’m putting the day on my calendar and I will sleep the entire day, that will be my shining beacon in the future and my chance to catch up on a years worth of sleep debt.  I plan on getting all the things done but I’m not going to dwell too much in the future

 

Today we are looking forward to getting our siding fixed.  Years ago the installers did a poor job but nowhere near as bad as I thought.  When I called on the issues I noticed the estimator/boss guy came and inspected and was appalled by the crew (no longer with the company) and we are getting the job fixed now.  They had to re do the peaks to salvage siding to match but I’m not sure how I like it.  Thoughts?

 

One neighbor likes it but I would like other opinions too.

 

Ok, Zoe needs me – she fell out of bed last night and sprained her neck.  She is learning the wonder of Advil and ice….

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Looking Forward”

  1. Paul Mac Menamin says :

    Two tone looks great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

