my no good very bad Sunday

It is sad to say that Monday was 100X better then Sunday and Monday was not all that awesome a day.  There was a ton of cleaning and getting back in the routine that involved many trips to time out but it did not compare to Sunday….

 

Sunday I was woken  up not once, not twice but three times in the night by each of the children.  Niamh declared that my room ‘stunk’ at 6am and while I did agree I did not want to hear about it.  I had gone to bed Saturday knowing that there was some cat indiscretion somewhere in the room but after I checked my bed thoroughly I decided it could wait until morning.

 

Neither of us wanted to get up and somehow I lost the game of baby chicken because I actually got out of bed.  The house had been shut up for a week and more importantly it had been inhabited by a BOY for the previous 2 weeks.  There was a rancid cup of coffee on the table that Fiona spilled on the floor.  There were dubiously clean dishes precariously stacked in the drainer (hey, he tried…).  The one thing Lars decided to really clean was the coffee maker and it was disassembled and the parts where in 3 different locations including under the badly washed dishes.  I touched one dish and the pile cascaded into the sink to smash 2 drinking glasses that were just hanging out in the sink.  Lars did get out of bed when I was about to completely loose it because I could not find the last piece of the coffee maker and 3 children were shouting for different and opposing tasks to be completed immediately.

 

all this before 8am….

 

Then there was the bedroom situation.  Lars went to investigate as I fed the children cereal because I had no  patience for making any other breakfast item.  My phone had refused to charge so I had no access to my recipe anyway so we ate month old cereal, but, to his credit, Lars got milk before we got home.  The situation under the bed was bad…  The cat sitter said she didn’t know the cat was locked in our room but he had to have been – maybe he got out himself?  He was sitting pretty on the steps when we got home.  Other then pee and poo and a bit of puke the cat had clawed under the door to the bathroom and caught 3 towels and they are badly shredded.  Lars took care of the big bits but I had to mop so we moved the bed.  ::aside:: Lars also took down the baby pack n play and that made me more sad then it should because it means our baby isn’t a baby anymore.  We moved the bed to the other half of the room and I mopped while Lars washed Fiona who had decided to take a walk in the cat pee.  Thankfully Niamh and Zoe were delightedly playing with all their toys that they had missed and not getting the way.  The next issue was moving the bed back when the foot board fell off.  We looked at beds online and in the end we just shoved the bed back together and we will deal with that another day.

 

Part of my overwhelming displeasure with the day was because I thought things would be more neat when I got back but there was a month worth of dust, cat fur and general grime on everything.  The floor in the kitchen was the only thing that was cleaner then I left it and I was upset because of my own unmet expectations.  Coupled with weeks of broken sleep and 2 days of driving it was a recipe for sadness disaster.  To make things worse we took 3 cranky kids to wal-mart to get school stuff and that was a fresh hell all of its own.  The day finally ended with a nice dinner and then I fell asleep on the sofa to wake up very disoriented at 1am.

 

Sunday night I still didn’t get the sleep I wanted and Monday was rough but today is going well.  I cleaned non stop from morning to night and my room, the bathroom and the livingroom look great.  Today I tackle the kitchen and tomorrow the play room and kids rooms.  While we were busy Sunday the kids trashed their room but whatever, they didn’t step in cat pee and I even got a shower in peace when Fiona napped.

 

Counting my blessings – the cat is alive, we have a DVR full to the brim of shows we want to watch, the kids are getting back on schedule, I love my hot tub, Lars is a great cook, and I fit my smaller shorts now.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

