The Pennsic Pile

Our ‘vacation’ is coming up and I’m working my way up to being excited about it.  I use little ” ” around vacation because Pennsic, while a fantastic experience in general sometimes takes hindsight to find it fantastic….  I have been going every year except for 2 since I was 5 years old so there is a good chunk of tradition and nostalgia in it for me.  I remember it smaller, I know every street by heart and know 85% of the traditional spots for people.  I grew up there, from playing on the playground to hanging out with the kids, to sneaking into parties, to plain old going to parties.  Lars has been going since he was 16 and he fell in love with the mass battles and the fighting and the fighting and the talking about fighting on the field and the parties where you would talk about fighting (sense a theme?).

 

The last time I went to Pennsic it was not 100% fun because I had a 1 and 3 year old and pregnant with #3.  Lars was still in the “I am 21” mindset and I was tired.  It was with sorrow and relief that we didn’t go last year but now I have to figure it out with 3 kids.  Lars and I have talked about how we need to enjoy the Pennsic of now, not try and relive the dubious years between 16-24.  I also have a line on someone who will help mind the children daily.  I am also far more used to the day to day needs of the kids but we will be away from the air conditioning and internet that they have grown used to.  I’m soliciting my mom for help bringing the more bulky things so we will have a smidgen of comfort in the car and I hope those preemptive measures will help.

 

Not to sound down on this, I am just cautiously optimistic.  I am pretty set with clothing, I’ve already begun the pennsic pile where I pile up all the things that will need to go into the car.  I have reservations for the night we will spend on the road and the hotel has a great little kids waterpark that I plan on tiring the kids out on while Lars sleeps in a bit.  Once the drive is behind us and we have arrived I know I will be overjoyed to see everyone I missed last year plus my parents.

 

Between now and then I have a lengthy to-do list but I’m nibbling away at it.  I have a house sitter arranged and I’m trying to prepay all the bills.  I need to finish Niamh’s school enrollment package and run a few MOM’s club events but then I’ll be ready to go!

 

Ps.  I know my opinion of Pennsic has evolved but here are some old posts;

1. Pre kids – first trip from MN

2. 2011 – last time I was there

there are more if you use the search window but I’m just linking 2 here

 

PPS. Niamh is now the same age I was at my first Pennsic

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

