1 year as a stay at home mom!

I’ve hashed and rehashed my feelings on this but the 4th of July week is actually the first week I had 3 kids full time last year.  I remember being on the overwhelmed side but it worked out.  I was thinking today how a year has changed the girls and I as I sat in story time . ZOE sitting good as gold and listening, Niamh doing really well too and total able to do the craft and not a fit or fight between them.  Fiona, the former meatloaf, is now my weakest link in story time where she can sit through about 6 minutes and then we roam the kids area and talk to the other mom’s that I’ve become quite familiar with.  This year I feel like I look nice, pulled together, and ‘in’ the mom grove.  I know  most people at the library and no longer feeling like the disheveled new mom.  As a bonus, I end up knowing mom’s all over from either the Mom’s club, or, from the library but the people who tend to get out and go out tend to go to the same places.

 

I’m mentally composing a nice restaurant review of Aqua, the new fancy fine dining place in Forest Lake.  It was worth going to for sure and we will go again.  Review forthcoming…

We went to Aqua because it was Lars’s birthday – other birthday activity was minor because we let him sleep until 11:30.  Any of you parents know that is like sleeping until 3pm for relative decadence in slumber.  Lars opened a plethora of gifts including a few cool new t-shirts and a knife sharpener – things he really wanted.  Niamh picked out gum for him (because I vetoed a skateboard) and Zoe choose an ice tray shaped like bacon.  I had no influence on these decisions and we actually had to search the store for gum because Niamh had her heart set on it from the second we walked in.  He does not even chew gum often but it must have made an impression.  We did get out to Como Zoo for a bit and it was gorgeous weather so that meant it was a crowded day at the zoo.

Sunday we did this and that and stuff around the house.  Monday was the normal catch up day and I did a bunch of things to progress my various businesses.  Melaleuca is coming along, last month was very good so I expect a nice check from it.  Last month I got my first check over $100 so that was exciting.   To follow-up on my writing ethical quandary from last month – I quit writing for the elder blog because the person who was taking my work would not say that she would not add in plagiarized sections again.  I was working for peanuts so I just closed out with her without fanfare and went in for a much higher paying yet less frequent client.  Yesterday I wrote one article for $45, that is the equivalent of nearly a month of the other writing.  It is medical writing and the assignment was on hGC testing, something I have plenty of experience with.  If I can do 2 a month from this client I will be quite happy.  I also spent a chunk of time fulfilling the whims of the mortgage people since we are finally near closing on another townhouse.  I hope for a speedy rental, it is a great unit – 3 bedrooms and an end unit with an extra big kitchen and walk in closet.  By the end of the day yesterday I had no blog left in me.

 

Today we did the library thing and the garden thing and then the beach thing.  Not a bad life if you ignore the pouty faces and such.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

