1 year later

All through all three pregnancies I reveled in the belly.  I loved how I was round like a little basket ball (and then a beach ball).  I took tons of pictures, the regular every few week style and then the cool and artistic ones too.  I enjoyed the time, every second, until 5 seconds after I had the baby and then it just became blah belly again.  Blah is a kind word really but I gave myself slack about looking 5 months pregnant the day we came home from the hospital.  On the one hand I felt very thin compared to 10m round, but, I did not fit my normal pants so I knew I had work to do.

I let nature do most of the work.  Baby food production took a bunch of the weight off.  I don’t have a huge appetite either so unless food is put in front of me I will wait until I’m starving and then eat something steller like a Chibani and a cookie.  Lars decided to take on cooking a few years ago so our food has gone from ‘college dorm gourmet’ to real gourmet.  I’m on a tangent here but Lars cooks better then most of the restaurants we can afford to eat at regularly making going out to eat not a great treat for me.  Not only is he good at cooking (now) he also knows all the things I like and don’t like.  Going out for me is an exercise in skimming each description and then bouncing to the next item when I hit an ingredient/adjective I don’t like.  Usually I end up re-reading to find the thing I dislike least.  Honestly it has gotten better as I’ve gotten more adventurous in my eating but my former co-workers teased me about my granola bar stock pile I took on every business trip because when you don’t like spicy food China and Vietnam and Malaysia are hard places to eat.  Travel tip; eat as much as you can at breakfast, it is the most safe meal of the day.  ANYWAY, back on track, of the 30ish pounds I gained I was back to pre pregnancy weight more or less in December but not the right SHAPE and shape is what fits in my jeans…

I’ve written about my bootcamp that I go to 2x a week and I also try to run a few miles on Friday so with that and a generally active life I give you my 1 year later belly picture

ta da!

So not the thinnest I’ve ever been but I’m maybe in the best muscle shape since college when I was actively coached and had nothing better to do then work out.  I’m back in my prepregnancy jeans and I have no idea about my work stuff because I have not worn any of that in a year either.

It has been a YEAR since I set foot in an office to do any work.  I use my laptop anywhere I want in my house or deck or yard and I have a nice desk next to Lars if I wish to do desktop style stuff.  I wonder how long I should hold onto my work wardrobe since my timeline to go back to work is like 5 years so who knows what will be in style or fit (who am I kidding, I don’t really do ‘in’ style, I go for dull button downs and nice pants/skirts).  I miss some of the people I worked with, fewer then I thought I would and that goes to show how genuine my work friendships were.  Occasionally a date passes that I know was a milestone for a project and I wonder how it is going but I don’t feel much ownership over it anymore.  I feel a little odd wearing any stuff with Polaris logo or name because I don’t even have any products but I still think it is a good company so I’ll just wear the hat in general support.

I like my giraffe ears, they don’t come standard with a Pure Polaris hat.

Everyone said it takes a year to get used to being at home and they are right.  I’m comfortable in my routine, we figured out the money stuff balance, and I don’t feel like I’m swimming in the deep end with sharks.  There are plenty of days that are not perfect but most are more positive then not.  Weekends are on the odd side because we have to wait around for Lars to do stuff, but, we can do more with 2 adults so the wait is worth it.

I feel like the beginning of June will always be an anniversary that only I will celebrate;  it is another time to reflect and set goals – more on that another day but I’m glad that my stomach is mostly back  to normal and that was a major goal for year 1.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

