Punch Piñata DIY

One of the things that Niamh really wanted for her party was a Piñata .  I’m semi against Piñata’s because they are violent and cause way too much sadness.  I’ve seen plenty of parties where either the Piñata refuses to break, or, it breaks too early and not everyone gets a turn.  Recently the birthday girl didn’t get a go at her own Piñata because it went on the third person and she cried and cried.  I also have seen far too many close call’s with the stick and since we can’t count on outside I’m not sure where we would put a Piñata.  So, I’m constructing something I saw on Pinterest called a punch Piñata where basically there is a box with openings covered in tissue paper and you punch through and get a prize.  Everyone gets a turn, no frenzy when the candy falls and hopefully no tears.

I’m not done yet but here is what I’ve done so far;

Part one – get a box – Amazon helped me with that.

I sketched a bunch of different ideas, I needed 12 openings and I wanted something more fun then just regular circles.  I ended up with balloons on top, a couple stars, a cake and 2 presents and I sketched it directly onto the box.  When designing you have to remember that things can’t overlap and they need enough room between them for the structure to stay intact.

Part two – cut out the holes.  I used a knife and it was way easier then scissors   I reminded myself that I can’t stress over perfection, this will last 10 min with a bunch of 5 year olds, they are not hyper critical.

Part three (no picture sorry) Trace the holes onto a big piece of paper and then cut them out.

Part four – tape tissue paper over the holes.  I used a double layer, that should be strong but not too strong.

Part five – put the big paper over everything so you have a nice looking white base with colors on the punch spots.

This is as far as I’ve gotten, I still need to attach bags (or something) with treats in them on the back side and pretty up the sides of the box and do some drawing detail on the front.  Niamh saw it and declared it ‘gorgeous’ so I think it will work out.  I’ll update with the how-to for the rest when I’m done

Completed How-To here

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

