Firestar costume DIY

This post is my how-to for the Firestar costume I made for may daughter for Halloween.  I know that was a month ago but I had a request for directions so here they are.

My daughter fell in love (in a 4 year old girl way) with Firestar – a very very very lesser known Marval super hero.  She is on “Spiderman and his Amazing Friends” but basically she wanted to be a superhero and this was the only female one she knew.  Anyway, as costumes go it was pretty easy and I think can be adapted to most of the superhero women out there.

 

Here is the total shopping list;

Red gloves

tights

leotard

rit dye

bucket

boots

craft foam in red and orange – how much depends on the size of your costume.

spray glue

red duct tape

scissors

elastic thread

fat needle

 

How To

First, the body suit.  Firestar is ALL YELLOW and you may know, they don’t sell bright yellow leotards so I had to dye my own.  I’m not an expert in the matter of dyeing, I basically followed the directions on the RIT dye bottle and I used a bucket because I’m not going near my washing machine with anything that could turn all my stuff yellow.  My only two pieces of advice here is 1. get matching tights and leotards – if you get pink get pink, if you get white get both white then they should end up the same color when you dye them.  2. Get cotton, it takes the dye better.

The nice thing is that after Halloween, a pair of nice yellow tights are a decent add to a wardrobe where the little girl wears dresses 90% of the time.

++

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-MY82DSRByiE/UL2CNz135zI/AAAAAAAAF3A/a8A_S3bVItg/s400/IMG_2176.JPG

 

Follow the directions on the box, I won’t  risk my washing machine but I have a nice bucket for the messy jobs.

 

Next major component of the costume are the flame boots and gloves.  I used red gloves from the store, boots we already had that she could slip her feet into and out of easily and then craft foam for the flames.

 

Gloves

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-SoXkHREUzK0/UL2COgeK9II/AAAAAAAAF3M/gvbPGudL2vU/s400/IMG_2177.JPG

Measure the wrist and the length from wrist to mid arm.  Draw the wrist section with a slight curve and then draw lines radiating out apx 30 degrees with a length equal to the wrist to mid arm measure  and then connect the two points with an arch.  This will make a cone like glove.  If you want more flare or less adjust the angle of the line.  Make a paper patter fist so you can adjust length and curve easily then trace two onto the foam. ** Don’t make these too long, the orange level of flame will increase the total length by an inch and you don’t want to impeed elbow movement.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-X2V5vE3iGts/UL2CP20ytXI/AAAAAAAAF3k/8D-ASahHmxY/s400/IMG_2179.JPG http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-QJ438gU9670/UL2CO2bd-OI/AAAAAAAAF3Y/lpq76wzatNc/s400/IMG_2180.JPG

I forgot to take a picture of the flame for the gloves but it is done the same way as I show in the boot step below.

I tried to use velcro to close the glove but it didn’t work out well so I used red duct tape to make a wrist band just large enough for her to slip her hand through.

 

Boots

This is more tricky and I can’t say I’m 100% pleased with how it turned out but it did last the Halloween season.  The boot upper and toe are in two pieces on purpose so the foot can move easily.

Step one – the upper – wrap a rectangle of foam around the top of the boot and cut to measure.  Make the height just taller then the boot (flame will make it taller).  The foam should part over the foot/toe section of the boot and that is fine.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-6xcoJSjMIxw/UL2CT9OKXqI/AAAAAAAAF4s/l8uLihk_HB4/s400/IMG_2183.JPG

Step two – Hold the foam upper in place around the boot and slip a piece of paper over the foot/toe and slightly under the foam.  Trace the opening over the foot and around the bottom of the toe.  cut out that pattern slightly large and check for fit.  Use pattern to make two toe covers.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-TWnnv-Ix7EI/UL2CTSVT0tI/AAAAAAAAF4g/4fidqus9jaw/s400/IMG_2184.JPG

Step three – Cut out the toes and using a big needle and elastic thread sew a running stitch (just up and down, nothing fancy) all along the top and then a long piece under the sole of the shoe.  You can’t just tie the elastic in two spots in the foam because it will rip out quickly – foam is versatile but not strong.  Most of the thread is covered but for the bits that did show I used a red sharpie to color them in.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-mHthfh18i7E/UL2CSnMURGI/AAAAAAAAF4U/C7UqvoNVVTs/s400/IMG_2185.JPG http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-9CyThvZl2DY/UL2CR9n_XjI/AAAAAAAAF4I/kJX7hAMx894/s400/IMG_2186.JPG

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-i2VCQq1B_Lc/UL2CRZEJJnI/AAAAAAAAF38/W-cSjvxGUyE/s400/IMG_2204.JPG

Once you have the basic covers fitting the way you like add velcro to hold the uppers closed.  The other part of the velcro is under a flame that will cover the gap.

Now it is time to add flame!

On each red piece I free handed a flame design alternating between high and low, single and double flames along the respective top edges.  The more ‘random’ the better and for lack of a better word I just cut ‘wiggly’ fire and it turned out pretty well.

For the orange level I used a strip of foam large enough to cover the lowest point of any of the red flames and high enough to show about a half inch above the red.  Be careful not to get too tall  but otherwise just cut the proportions so they look right.  Copy the length and curve and if you want to speed things up cut the two pieces together – that not only speeds up the process it also makes them match.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-gLv1uRZOSX0/UL2CQxM9OqI/AAAAAAAAF3w/RWFgzMAtHiU/s400/IMG_2210.JPG

I used spray glue on the red  and then stuck it onto the orange – the other way around leaves sticky spots on the orange that will attract dirt and cat hair etc on the showing side.

 

Mask

Using more foam fold a rectangle in half (so both halfs match).  Cut what I think of as an angular butterfly and eye holes that are slightly rounded triangles   I am sorry, I never took a picture of just the mask!  It is secured with more elastic thread.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-CESnGBCPTWk/UL2CVJdVLWI/AAAAAAAAF44/g_e_maER9Rk/s400/12%2B10%2BOct-058.JPG

Hair

My kids for some reason like wigs.  Niamh has had a wig in her costume for 3 out of 4 years.  This is an adult red devil wig I found at WalMart with the horns cut off but I’m sure any red wig you find will work.

 

Put it all together and you have Firestar!  In doing all my research there are many many versions of firestar so minor variations would be basically un noticeable by all but the most pure of purists.  Given that only about 5 kids recognized Firestar I’m not stressing – those that did recognize it thought it was great and everyone else thought it was just a cool super hero costume.

 

If you have any questions leave a comment.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

27 responses to “Firestar costume DIY”

  1. kateluthner79 says :

    If you use these directions please leave me a comment and a link to your finished version. Firestars of the world unite.

  2. paula says :

    Hi Kate! You already know how much I appreciate your taking the time to help out another Mama with Firestar-loving girls! Thank you thank you thank you!! Because of you, I am oh so close… I even rigged up the duct tape around the wrists! Yay! But I am really stuck on the Velcro around the boots. Does the scratchy part just miraculously hold your foam together or did you glue the other part (fuzzy) on? If you could show me that, or explain it to me, I’d be so grateful!
    Oh, and up here in Canada, my mom DID find yellow leos AND. A matching yellow long-sleeved body suit at a costume store called Mucculloch’s. but oddly, I’m having trouble finding the wig, go figure, eh? :)

  3. Rubi says :

    So true about Firestar. She is the queen of all Superhero’s for 3 and 4 year olds. My soon to be 4 year old wants a “Firestar” birthday! So glad I came across this website. I have 2 months to get supplies and work out the kinks. Thanks again :)

  4. McLain's Child care says :

    How long did u leave it in the dye? My turned Orange?

  5. Karen says :

    Thank you going to make this for my little girl who is desperate for a firestar costume

  6. Rachel says :

    Thank you for this! I’m almost done with my daughters costume. Just need to attach the flames to the gloves and boots. I took a pair of boots she doesn’t wear often and duct taped them red! I couldn’t figure out the boot covers. She’s so excited to be firestar!

    • kateluthner79 says :

      My gloves and flames are separate for the safety of the foam. Link a pic when you are done, I’m excited for another firestar!

  7. Rebecca says :

    I can’t thank you enough for posting these instructions. My 4 year old daughter wanted to be Firestar this Halloween and I couldn’t find the costume anywhere. I followed your step-by-step and the costume turned out great! Thanks again.

  8. Cynthia says :

    Thank you for the instructions, I used the foam tip and I also coloured the leggings and body yellow. Tried to paint my hair Red, but that failed.

    Here is the picture: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10152047439438911&set=a.387077173910.166677.597548910&type=1&theater

  9. Anjuli says :

    Thank you for posting such detailed info. My 3 year old twins have decided to be spiderman and firestar this year. I am so not a creative person but, these steps help. I need to start working on it now. Oh and thanks for the wig link…already set to order. I have seen yellow leotards online but, they are SO expensive.

    • kateluthner79 says :

      good luck and I’m glad to help! Link a picture when you are done – I’ve been thinking on spiderman diy since I read your comment but I don’t have a boy to practice on.

  10. numnee says :

    Thanks. We just dyed 2 leotards using rit liquid golden yellow dye and they turned orange :(. Our leotards were light pink in color just like yours. I’m disappointed and upset. Any suggestions?? I don’t know why it turned orange.

    • kateluthner79 says :

      Do you have iron in your tap water maybe? I have a softener system… Maybe try with inexpensive bottled water?

      • anjuli says :

        I don’t think so. I didn’t do it for 2 mins like you did…should have read that part. We did it in the washing machine and the color of the leotard came out more gold yellow than the bright yellow it should be. It looked orange initially but, dried up it is golden yellow. Problem is that in different lighting it looks different. In sunlight it looks more yellow. We’re wondering if we can get away with it? :)

        We got a Rit dye remover also to see if we can remove the color and re-dye it yellow. If that works?

        BTW, for the wig, did you just cut the horns with a scissor? Our wig doesn’t look as smooth as yours. Will probably have to brush it.

      • kateluthner79 says :

        I would not mess with the remover, maybe was it a few times… Firestar is different shades of yellow in different pictures so no stress. Yes, I did just cut the horns and finger brushed over the hole. Can’t wait for a picture!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Firestar Niamh « Katy Stuff - December 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

