Archive | January 10, 2012

First Book of the Year

My first book of the year was a kindle book.  I got a kindle for my birthday and figured out how to use it.  It is insanely easy really and my library has a fairly easy way to borrow books.  At first I was trying to find the ‘perfect’ book for the first book but after looking I ended up settling for a book that was available and looked interesting.  A long time ago I decided that if a book got into a library it must be worth reading so I trusted fate and ended up with book one of a series about the last Druid in the world(s).

 

 

Hounded (The Iron Druid Chronicles, Book One) [Mass Market Paperback]

Kevin Hearne (Author)

 

It is a decently written book and I like books that I learn ‘something’ while the story progresses.  I can still read totally formulaic romance novels and be entertained because I like the details that authors use to round out the world and the character.  Who knows if the druidic stuff in this book is right but it seemed reasonable to me and creative in general.  If vampires can sparkle for some people, why can’t druids have a direct link to the earth.  The author is very clever in character development creating a young likeable man who has lived longer then Christianity so it is very easy to toss in a historical anecdote that is real, or, something that just fits the story and the timeline that this guy knows but history never recorded.  The book also goes toward acknowledging all religions as real and in the second book goes so far to say that it is faith that creates and keeps a god alive, not a god keeping people alive.  Pretty deep for random fiction.

 

Not to give away anything but there is the necessary dramatic circumstance to cause action but, the ‘hero’ was not a super hero untouchable type, he got help, got hurt, and got lucky so the action was far more reasonable then the super hero types that are unbeatable.  I recommend the book and liked it enough that I’m reading book 2 right now and I also read two short stories included in the book (I won’t count them as books to my total though, if I do that I might as well start counting the Fancy Nancy books I read to Niamh).  There is some rated R relationship stuff but nothing too graphic and it isn’t what progresses the story, the violence is also less graphic than your average R movie but that might be because I was reading not seeing – either way, I would say this is fine for anyone thirteen on up.

 

 

Back to the kindle experience, I agree with others that it isn’t the same as reading a book, but, it is still reading a book.  That sounds convoluted but it’s like Readers Digest isn’t reading a book but it’s still reading.  The format is different but its easy on the eyes and I like how simple it was to get a book.  Way too often I’m stalled on reading because I can’t get to the library or I’m waiting on something to ship to me so I end up with whatever is handy (or wasting time on facebook).  Once I ended up reading a memoir book about gay prostitution because it was in a box of books I got free – not that it was a bad read but it  only got read because of lack of options and now there are some facts I wish I didn’t know burned into my brain.  Anyway, to me the kindle is another way to read books and will not replace buying, borrowing, and picking up random free boxes of books.    The bonus experience is the kindle app.  That little thing is very handy and I don’t think you even need a kindle to get the app.  There are some bugs in the app because when I got the next book it would not show up in the app until I deleted it and re downloaded.  Reading on my phone is not my #1 choice for eyestrain reasons but it is easy for reading just a little bit between things/waiting around and extra good for when I’m waiting in a dark car with the kids sleeping while Lars run’s into the store etc.

 

The decision between the Kindle and Nook was not mine actually because Lars picked it, but, I had the same decision tree about getting him the Kindle Fire or the Nook color and he and I had very similar reasons.  It boiled down to support; we both believed (independently) that Amazon has a better future and a better technology base then Barns & Noble.  Getting a cool thing that has limited support stinks, a lesson we learned with the Zen products… Amazon also has the Prime option and we both liked that too.  Why I choose a Fire for him and he choose a Kindle for me is a whole different story that I doubt would be interesting but bottom line is we go each other the product at the level we would most utilize.  With 6 computers and 3 iPhones in the house we didn’t need an iPad

 

That’s it for now – I’ll probably have the review on #2 book in the series soon since I’m half done so not bad for Jan 10.